Since its original establishment as a wooden fortress, the castle has undergone significant changes while retaining much of its historical structure. During the English Civil War most of the castle was destroyed and allowed to decay until the 8th Duke of Norfork commenced reconstruction in 1716 AD.
Photo Above - West bailey of Arundel Castle.
Today, the visitor to Arundel Castle gets to visit a lot of the castle, including areas of the castle regular in use by family and guest when tourist are not allowed at the castle. To name but just a few of the sights; in the Castle can be seen armor, stuff deer heads, a library in the Gothic style of the early 1800's, stylishly decorated bedrooms, and the expansive Barons' Hall with its magnificent 50 foot oak beam trusted roof.
Unfortunately, no photograph is allowed in the residential sections of the castle.